Instructor Jeff was influenced by Miles Davis


Q and A with new instructor Jeff!

 

Q&A with our new instructor Jeff
I’m Jeff and I play trumpet, Piano/Keyboard, teach Composition, Music Tech, and Theory. I’ve been teaching for a little over 7 years.
When did you know you wanted to play ? The first time I heard Miles Davis. The tune was ‘My Funny Valentine’ – a live take from the album Jazz At The Plaza. Miles’ solo on it impacted me in such a way that I knew I had to be a musician. The all star band including Bill Evans, John Coltrane, Cannonball, Paul Chambers, and Jimmy Cob left a real mark.
Music projects you’re working on? Featured as a Trumpet player on numerous albums. But my work is featured in a vast array of film and media work. My latest project was writing the score for the original film Discretion by director Cody McAvey. Currently in festivals nationwide. As well as additional ghost writing.
What’s your best practice advice? Take your time. Rushing won’t get you to where you want to go any quicker.
What are you listening to right now? Snarky Puppy – Family Dinner Volume 2. A great band really creating a new sound in Jazz collaborating with some amazing, more mainstream musicians like Laura Mvula, Nigel Hall, Lalah Hatheway, among others.
Leave a Reply

