Q and A with our new instructor Jason


JasonC2
I’m Jason. I am a drummer and a recently self taught guitarist. I have been playing drums for 14 years and teaching the past 4 or so.
I was 12 years old when I decided that I wanted to be a full time musician. I had always loved a few bands growing up, but at that age, I was exposed to some new music and I started my own first original band. I just knew from the energy of playing live that music was my passion.
My 2 original bands are both working on demo tapes right now and will have some recorded material relatively soon. I play in downtown Nashville on the Tootsies Broadway circuit 4-5 times a week.
My number one practice tip is to always remember that you aren’t supposed to sound good when you are practicing. If you do, you’re practicing the wrong stuff! This tip is tied for #1 with GO SLOW
Right now I am listening a lot to Peter Gabriel (mostly his Genesis material from the early 70’s) but some of his experimental 80’s rock stuff from his solo career. And to a band called Flying Colors which is a progressive rock/pop group that is a super group formed of former members of Dream Theater, Dixie Dregs, Transatlantic, and Alpha Rev.
Leave a Reply

