Practice tip


MMS- Visalakshi (49)For those of you that are taking lessons, imagine that your instructor is there with you when you practice and be critical of your playing the same as your instructor would, hearing his or her words in your head. I still hear my past instructors every time I practice, telling me things I know he would say if he were listening. I know that while you’re learning a piece it’s hard to also hear what you’re playing, but as you grow more familiar with the piece, you’ll be able to do that more and more. And another great way to practice is to record yourself. That is usually the last step I take when learning a piece that I’ll be performing, so I can hear myself better and critique my own playing. You may even want to circle those areas you need to work on (with pencil) on the music so you can remember or make notes.

Leave a Reply

